Founded in 2013, Open Learning is led by educators, advisors, and technology innovators committed to supporting and empowering MIT faculty as they reimagine and reinvent education in the digital age.

Sanjay Sarma Open Learning

Sanjay Sarma

Vice President for Open Learning

Sanjay Sarma is the Vice President for Open Learning at MIT, which includes the Office of Digital Learning, the MIT Integrated Learning Initiative and the...

new dean of digital learning at MIT

Krishna Rajagopal

Dean for Digital Learning, Open Learning

Krishna Rajagopal is the Dean for Digital Learning. He leads efforts to empower and catalyze MIT faculty as they use digital technologies to augment and...

Ike Chuang

Isaac Chuang

Senior Associate Dean of Digital Learning

Isaac Chuang is a professor of Physics and a professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT. He is deeply involved in developing new...

Ferdi Alimadhi

Director of Engineering

Ferdi Alimadhi leads the Engineering department at Open Learning, responsible for providing software development, tools, technical infrastructure and...

MIT: Lecturer, Bootcamps, ODL Business Units

Erdin Beshimov


Erdin Beshimov is a Lecturer at MIT and a Founder and Director of MIT Bootcamps. At MIT Erdin was also the founding Director of the MITx MicroMasters...

Lawrence Gallagher

Senior Producer/Advisor to the Vice President of Open Learning

MIT Video Productions Director Lawrence (Larry) Gallagher has led MIT’s video production department since 1983. In addition to producing thousands of videos...

TC Haldi Open Learning

TC Haldi

Senior Director, MIT xPRO

TC Haldi oversees MIT xPRO for the corporate and professional market. She and her team partner with faculty and groups across campus to design and deliver...

MIT Professor

Eric Klopfer

Director of the MIT Scheller Teach Education Program

Eric Klopfer is Professor and Director of the Scheller Teacher Education Program and The Education Arcade at MIT. He is also a J-WEL pK-12 Faculty Advisor....

Vijay Kumar Open Learning

Vijay M. S Kumar

Associate Dean of Digital Learning & Executive Director J-WEL

Vijay Kumar provides leadership for sustainable, technology-enabled educational innovation at MIT. He is a member of the MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) advisory...

Shigeru Miyagawa Open Learning

Shigeru Miyagawa

Senior Associate Dean

Miyagawa is Senior Associate Dean for Open Learning at MIT. He was on the original MIT committee that proposed OpenCourseWare, and was the Chair of the MIT...

Lisa Schwallie Open Learning

Lisa Schwallie

Executive Director, Business and Operations, for Open Learning

Lisa Schwallie supports and oversees Open Learning’s business and operations functions. She works with the leadership team to define and implement strategic...

Tom Smith Open Learning

Tom Smith

Senior Director, Development and Strategic Initiatives